Infinity Goods blog

A blog for God’s People

WFMW — Child’s Haircut Without Tears

Posted by infinitygoods on October 16, 2007

Young children are often afraid of getting their hair cut, especially with their first haircut. In some neighborhoods, children’s salons, complete with video games, TVs, candy, lots of noise and general overstimulation are proliferating, but I knew that was not for me or for my baby.

So what’s a loving mommy to do? I made an appointment with my hairdresser for the entire family together. First, my husband sat in the hot seat while baby and I watched daddy get a haircut.

I made lots of comments about daddy looking so handsome. I also showed our child how daddy was so good sitting still to help the hairdresser or how daddy was looking at his shoes until he was asked to look up. Baby was fascinated.

Then came my turn. My husband went through the same routine when I was getting my hair cut. By the time I was done, our baby was begging to get his own hair cut. Of course he already had an appointment, but we “agreed” to let him have a haircut.

The hairdresser said she’d never seen anyone do that before, but that she would recommend this trick to all parents because this had been the easiest child’s haircut she had ever done. No tears, no trauma, no bribes, no fidgeting, just quick, easy and full of happiness and excitement.

I reinforced this newly learned behavior a few times with grandma, auntie and daddy again and pretty soon I had a child so willing to get haircuts without a fuss that even I could do trims myself at home.

I have two tips today, so be sure to read my other post about bread stuffing.

If you missed my other WFMW tips, here they are:

plastic colander bath toy drainerholder

reuse plastic grocery bags in the car

How to increase Web site traffic?

16 Web site tips

Toy storage

And don’t forget to stop by Shannon’s Rocks in My Dryer for lots more tips from all the participants.

2 Responses to “WFMW — Child’s Haircut Without Tears”

  1. Tanya said

    Great idea! This would have helped my little one a few years ago – luckily he’s good with getting his hair cut now. Especially since I’m the hairdresser for them 3 out of 4 months.

  2. Kandy said

    Wow I NEVER thought to do that with any of my three kids. I really wish I had. If I ever have another (doubtful, but I can dream right?) I’ll definitely do this. GREAT tip!

Leave a Reply

 
