Infinity Goods blog

A blog for God’s People

Thursday Thirteen #5 — 13 Favorite Cities

Posted by infinitygoods on November 7, 2007

nano_06_icon_micro4.gifnablo0790x33participant.jpg

thursdaybannerpariscafe.png

Welcome back to Thursday 13. This week I am sharing 13 favorite cities, why I like them, and a photo for your viewing pleasure whether you’ll be reminicing or discovering a new city. For a list of the other participants, be sure to visit thursdaythirteen.com.  The photos are from Flickr’s public files.  If you right click and select properties, a window listing my caption and giving credit to the photographer will pop up.

These are in alphabetical order.

1. Ashland, Oregon Downtown Ashland, Oregon. Photo by WAVE Journey.

It has lots of charm and a small town atmosphere. It is home to the Oregon Shakespeare Festival.

2. Atlanta, Georgia Piedmont Park in Midtown Atlanta with city skyline. Photo by amiko

I love the history, architecture, contrasts.

3. Honolulu/Waikiki, Oahu, Hawaii Waikiki Beach and Diamond Head, Oahu, Hawaii.  Photo by eobisch.

The ocean is warm from underwater volcanoes and there is natural beauty everywhere.

4. Los Gatos, California Los Gatos gate.  Photo by echoes71.

The cats are at the gate of a private home, but it is a popular landmark, the high school mascot and used for the town logos.

5. Malibu, California Malibu.  Photo by kla4067

Malibu is beautiful year round, but always dangerous with fires in summer and fall and mud and rock slides in winter and spring.

6. Menton, France Menton, the old town and harbor.  Photo by fede gen88

You can see here the church tower of St. Michael’s. It is full of artwork, but the church is very dark so it is difficult to see. There are stairs everywhere. The ones leading to the church and plaza were handset by the Romans with mosaic-like designs.

7. Oatman, Arizona Oatman, Arizona.  Photo by escapo

Named after the Oatman family massacred by the Indians in 1851. Two daughters were taken captive, their faces were tattooed and one died of starvation while she was an Indian slave. The other was sold back to the whites after five years as a slave and reunited with her brother who had been clubbed and left for dead. The ghost town has a few tourist shops and wild burros from the days of the gold rush.

8. Palo Alto, California Stanford University, CA.  Photo by Swang168

This is Stanford University with the Memorial Church at the Center.

9. Paris, France A view of the Eiffel Tower over the Seine River at dusk in Paris, France. Photo by Thomas Cristopher.

I love it’s beauty, architecture, culture and all the wonderful lights. A view of the Eiffel Tower over the Seine river at dusk.

10. Rimini, Italy Rimini, Italy.  Photo by beardyp

These little pedal boats are all over the beach and there are little changing cabins which you can rent. Sandcastles are also quite popular at this beach.

11. San Francisco, California San Francisco, California.  Photo byBRPhoto.

I too left my heart in San Francisco. It is surrounded by ocean on three sides and it never freezes, but you will find fog year round. Each neighborhood has its own very distinct character.

12. Saratoga, California Villa Montalvo, Saratoga, California.  Photo by hhwang19.

This is Villa Montalvo, originally built as the governor’s mansion, but is now a park and cultural center with artists in residence. It is often used for weddings, concerts and plays. It has great hiking trails through chaparrals.

13. Sausalito, California Sausalito, California.  Photo by BRPhoto

Sausalito is across the Golden Gate Bridge from San Francisco. Most of the houses sit on the mountainside and some residents live on houseboats. Flowers thrive throughout the town with the beneficial ocean air.

I hope that you’ve enjoyed my short tour around the world. I am participating in National Blog Post Month so throughout November I will be posting daily and I’m looking forward to your visits.

===============================================================

  • Don’t know what NaBloPoMo and NaNoWriMo are? Read all about it here and here.
  • Want to know why I’m participating in both? Click here.
22 Responses to “Thursday Thirteen #5 — 13 Favorite Cities”

  1. I’ve not been to any of those but there are a few there I’d like to visit.

    Interesting TT 🙂

  2. Di said

    The only one I’ve been to is San Francisco. And haven’t been to Saratoga, CA, but have been to Saratoga, NY…it is lovely and especially fun during the racing seasons.

  3. Kate said

    I love Paris, although I won’t be going back for a while. My last visit was a nightmare – pregnant with a 19month old toddler in a heatwave.
    Haven’t been anywhere else on your list (yet)

  4. marcia v said

    i love traveling you have some great shots i may use these ides sometime i do want to get to Hawaii

  5. What a great list! Love the pics, too. 🙂

  6. DrillerAA said

    Great list and some wonderful cities to visit.
    Just found out about National Blog Posting Month. I may try that next year.

  7. geekbetty said

    wow………I need to travel more.

  8. Raggedy said

    Gorgeous!
    Terrific Thursday Thirteen!
    My TT is posted.
    Have a wonderful day!
    Happy TT’ing!
    *^_^
    (=’:’=)
    (“)_ (“)Š
    Raggedy

  9. Wolfie said

    Ooo..I’ll love to visit Italy..!!

  10. Gives me the travel itch, beautiful phots!

  11. Julia said

    Nice list! I’ve only been to the European ones so far, but I plan to finally visit the U.S. of A. next year, and Atlanta is on my list 🙂
    If you ever come to Europe again, make sure to visit Edinburgh, Lake Garda and Nuernberg (my hometown)! Beautiful Places!

    Happy TT!

    Greets Julia

  12. Nicholas said

    I’ve been to Paris, San Francisco, Menton and Honolulu. So that leaves me nine to go!

  13. jennifer said

    I wish I could travel more.

  14. I haven’t been to any of these places,
    but they all look wonderful to me.
    Happy T13!

  15. Tammy said

    I lived in Arizona for years and never heard of Oatman. Interesting story about the town. Thanks for sharing. Happy TT

  16. Kay said

    Well, I certainly feel provincial—I have only visited three of those! But your words and pictures make me want to try all of them. Happy TT!

  17. Nicholas said

    I’ve been to SF, Honolulu, Menton and Paris, and liked them all a lot. I’d love to see the other nine.

  18. Love Paris – just absolutely love it. Really. i’d move there in a snap!

    Happy TT!

  19. Lori said

    What beautiful pics!! Great ideas. Happy TT.

  20. Where is Oatman, AZ?

    SJR
    The Pink Flamingo

  21. SJ: Oatman, AZ is on Historic Route 66 near Bullhead City. Here is the link to their Chamber of Commerce: http://www.oatmangoldroad.com

  22. Christy said

    I’ve never been to California, but I sure would love to! Happy t13!

Leave a Reply

 
