Infinity Goods blog

A blog for God’s People

Archive for December 4th, 2007

WFMW — 10 Minutes Flat

Posted by infinitygoods on December 4, 2007

If you came here looking for household tips or Christmas tips, ideas or resources, just click on those pages, and for more of this week’s WFMW go see Shannon.

wfmwbluebanner.jpgWell Shannon, at Rocks in My Dryer has given us a theme this week and she wants recipes for Works For Me Wednesday. Here’s the setup: It’s 5:30 p.m., we’re tired, we have a headache from having barely survived the worst day of our life and of course our cook is Missing In Action and we’re too poor for takeout. We don’t have any leftovers in the fridge or anything in the freezer that we can just zap because, you know, it’s the worst day from hell and we didn’t even think ahead to use our Crockpot, so what is going to work for me? And you?

Here’s four ideas:

1. Refer to my own blog for my Tomato Chicken Salad Recipe which I make in 10 minutes flat! Round it out with a cheese platter and fruit (no cooking there either, just pull it out of the fridge and slap it on a tray) and you still have a gourmet French meal! Now that works for me!

2. Grab my very best cookbook and look up the section “Dinners in half an hour”. What cookbook would that be, you ask? Dinners in half an hour is in The French Chef Cookbook. Well any cookbook by Julia Child will work too. Julia has the very best cookbooks because she not only tells us how to cook the recipes, but also tells us what NOT to do. With Julia by my side it wouldn’t matter if my brain were turned off, I know I don’t have to be concerned about anything because she will have tested every step right down to the last grain of salt. I could cook a recipe for the very first time and even serve it to a stereotypical mother-in-law from hell and not have one iota of concern. Now that works for me too;

3. Grab a Rachel Ray cookbook, because she too makes a complete meal in half an hour;

4. Grab one of Chef Emeril Lagasse’s children’s cookbooks because everything in there is super easy, super fast and super tasty. You can see my complete review of his series of children’s cookbooks right here on my Cooking For Children post.

Feel free to leave a comment even if it’s just to say “hi”.
Happy Wednesday, Everybody!!

Posted in Advent, American Cookery, blog, blogging, Blogroll, book, books, carnival, Chef Emeril, Chef Emeril Lagasse, Chicken, Christmas, Cookbook, Cookbooks, Cooking, Food, Holidays, Home, Household Tip, Household Tips, How To, Infinity Goods, infinitygoods.com, life, nutrition, Recipe, Salads, Tips, WFMW, works for me wednesday, Works For Me Wednesdays | Tagged: , , , , , , , , , | Leave a Comment »

Happy Chanukah!!

Posted by infinitygoods on December 4, 2007

Posted in Chanukah, Hanukkah, Holidays, Judaism | Tagged: , | Leave a Comment »