Infinity Goods blog

A blog for God’s People

Thursday Thirteen #9 — Favorite Christmas Carols

Posted by infinitygoods on December 5, 2007

Welcome back to Thursday Thirteen, where I let my readers in on some trivia about me. Today I share with you 13 favorite Christmas Carols, and let me tell you it was a very tough choice because I not only love everything about Christmas, but I was also in my church choir, so I have so many fond memories connected with so many carols and hymns. It was sort of like asking a mother to pick her favorite children; it’s just not possible. So, in no particular order, here are my 13 favorites for the day. Ask me next week, and I’m sure I’ll come up with at least another 8 or 10 different favorites.

  1. Silent Night
  2. Do You Hear What I Hear
  3. Mary Did You Know
  4. Il Est Ne Le Divin Enfant
  5. The Twelve Days of Christmas
  6. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
  7. Joy To The World!
  8. Handel’s Messiah
  9. Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer
  10. Jingle Bells
  11. O, Tannenbaum!
  12. O, Little Town of Bethlehem
  13. Carol of the Bells

Be sure to check my pages full of Christmas Tips, Ideas and Resources and my Household Tips.

Happy Thursday!!

Get the Thursday Thirteen code here!

19 Responses to “Thursday Thirteen #9 — Favorite Christmas Carols”

  1. palofmine said

    Great Thirteen! Come visit mine before its gone!

  2. Ellen said

    Oh I love a lot of those too! Happy TT to you…
    http://happywonderer.wordpress.com/2007/12/05/thursday-thirteen-seattle-sights/

  3. Chelle Y. said

    Great list! Those are some of my favorites too!

    Thanks for stopping by my TT!

  4. nicholas said

    Interesting list. Do you sing 8 an d9 in church?

  5. infinitygoods said

    Nicholas:
    Yes, we do sing the Messiah in church and during our concerts. We have a great choir director who was even able to get us to sing with the Los Angeles Opera. No small feat, as I’m sure you realize. We also sing Rudolf in church, but not during the service, only during our Christmas concerts. We also sing it when we go caroling to a local hospital.

  6. Michelle said

    Boy I sure do miss the days that people really went around door to door and sang Christmas Carols. What a shame……mine is up too.

  7. Some of my favorites as well! Have a great TT!

  8. Diana said

    This is also my 9th and I also did Christmas songs! We only have 2 or 3 in common, though.

  9. I am such a scrooge with Christmas music! I’m on a Baroque kick and like anything heading in that direction.

    The Pink Flamingo

  10. More songs! Yay!! My favorite thing about the season.. Well, that and the SWEETS!!

  11. i agree with 13.

  12. “Mary Did You know?” keeps coming up. I’ll have to take a look and have a listen. God bless.

  13. Natalie said

    Great list! Merry Christmas!

    My Thursday Thirteen is up too! šŸ™‚

  14. Rae said

    Happy TT I like The Twelve Days of Christmas & Ruldolph the Red Nosed Reindeer great list-http://inraesworld.blogspot.com/

  15. Robin said

    Beautiful choices.

  16. Sharon said

    Nice list. šŸ™‚ I love O Holy Night. Gives me the chills.
    Have a nice day!

  17. The Messiah is a beautiful part of Christmas. There are some lovely songs here. šŸ™‚

    I have three TTs this week:

    http://www.ravensroads.com/index.php/useless-emotions
    13 emotions we could do without

    http://www.ravensrv.com/tt13-lodi-california/
    13 things about Lodi, California

    http://www.ravensrides.com/thursday-thirteen-2-13-sayings-from-the-biking-community
    13 sayings from the biker community

  18. J. Lynne said

    I love “Mary did you know?” though I always thought the name was “Mother Mary” growing up. The version I have is by Roger Whittiker and my parents had it on vinyl when I was a kid. I hunted for it for years and finally found it on iTunes last year. It’s such a beautiful song.

    Happy belated TT!

  19. Malcolm said

    The one that sticks out the most to me is “The Twelve Days of Christmas”. I remember when we would sing it in grade school, me and my classmates would all sing the “Five golden rings” line and then shout the same line right after.

Leave a Reply

 
