Infinity Goods blog

A blog for God’s People

Archive for December 6th, 2007

Getting To Know Your Friends — Christmas Edition Part 1

Posted by infinitygoods on December 6, 2007

This is just for fun, although I’ve added some household tips and Christmas ideas, so you might find it worth your while to read on. I’ve been tagged by a friend and I’m sharing the fun along with my readers. You too can participate either in your blog or through e-mail if you don’t have a blog.

 

Welcome to the Christmas edition of Getting To Know Your Friends.

Here’s what you’re supposed to do, and try not to be a SCROOGE!!!

Change all the answers so that they apply to you. Then either publish it in your blog or send this to a whole bunch of people you know, INCLUDING the person who sent it to you … ‘Tis the Season to be NICE!

 

1. Wrapping paper or gift bags? Both, depending on size and shape of present. I’ve also wrapped over-sized presents in large white garbage bags with huge bows and ribbons. By the time I was finished with the fancy presentation, no one had any idea it was a garbage bag. I like to reuse the bags we receive too. If the wrapping paper strikes my fancy, it will often get reused into a Christmas craft.

2. Real tree or artificial? Both. Most years, the main tree is real. I remember one year where all the trees were outrageous highway robberies so we skipped the real tree that year. We decorate trees in every room. We have a slim, white, wall tree we purchased when our son was born and it goes in his bedroom. The decorations are red, old-fashioned toys and garlands of tiny hearts. We have two, 3 foot, green tabletop trees. One is pre-lit. The other is not, but one year I took the time to wrap the lights just so around every branch and we put it back in it’s box with the lights still attached and it’s just ready to go for the next year. I have a tiny one about 10″ tall with burgundy roses, ribbon garlands and a gold stand which my best friend made for me one year. It looks very Victorian and is a treasured memory. I have another tree about 12-14 inches tall with tiny old-fashioned glass ornaments which I used to decorate my cubicle back in the days before I worked for our church. We have a ceramic tree with one colored light at each tip. Our trees range from a few inches to floor to ceiling height. Some years not all have gone up. All of our trees and most of our ornaments have very special memories attached to them. Each year we all decorate together and as we pull out the ornaments we tell our son about each memory. Last year he started telling us the stories and had quite a bit of joy recalling all the ones he remembered.

3. When do you put up the tree? Most of the time we decorate the Friday of Thanksgiving week-end. I know some people are very much against it because it is before the start of Advent, but it is very convenient for a busy family. We decorate together and it is an enjoyable family activity with lots of music, singing, story telling, egg nog, cookies and general merriment rather than the chore some people unfortunately experience.

4. When do you take down the tree? The real tree is checked daily for any signs of dryness and it’s branches go into our fireplace as soon as it is deemed too much of a hazard. The trunk is chopped and left to dry for later fireplace use. We keep our real tree watered and add plant food or sugar, sometimes even Seven-Up to keep it from drying out too quickly. It usually lasts past Christmas day. At least one artificial tree is kept for the full 12 days of Christmas until Epiphany on January 6. All remnants of Christmas disappear by the week-end. Sometime between December 26 and January 1, the house has also undergone a slower transformation by decorating with a New Year theme.

5. Do you like egg nog? I love egg nog. I add milk to mine as I do not usually drink it with added alcohol and it is often too thick without the added liquid. It also makes it last longer. Sometimes when I don’t want something too heavy, but I still want the flavor of egg nog, I will mix mostly milk and only a little bit of egg nog since the flavor goes a really long way. I alway add freshly grated nutmeg. It makes quite a difference for my taste buds. Did you know egg nog was used as a restorative in the Victorian days when someone was ill or recuperating from an illness? All those eggs, cream, milk and alcohol are good for you!

6. What was your favorite gift received as a child? Books, books, and more books. And non-fiction, please. I loved to learn and still do.

You’ll find the rest of this Christmas questionnaire in a future post on a computer screen near you, so be sure to check back.  😉   Click here for Part 2

Posted in Advent, blog, blogging, Blogroll, Christmas, Friendship, Holidays, Infinity Goods, infinitygoods.com, Internet, life, Uncategorized | Tagged: , , | Leave a Comment »