Infinity Goods blog

A blog for God’s People

Are You Willing To Live Purposefully For God?

Posted by infinitygoods on January 21, 2008

The Green Tree Trail by ((IANB)) posted on Flickr’s public files
God, I have given up my own plans and purposes, my own desires and hopes. Give me strength to accept your will for my life. Help me give myself, my life, my talents, my all to you to be used for your purposes, your plan, your desires and your wishes. Help me become your worthy instrument. Help me accept and recognize your will. With haste, let me follow you without looking back. Let me say no good-byes. Let me not bury the dead. Help me follow you.
Amen



I came across a prayer I wrote a few years ago for a bible study class at my church. I was also working for the church and therefore working directly for God at the time. It was one of those spur of the moment things we have to write, off the cuff, while everybody else is also writing and all are self-consciously looking at the people in the room.

It seemed appropriate though that I should happen to find it. It just fell out of a notebook while I was looking for something entirely different, but for the upcoming discussion I will be posting here on this blog during lent about The Purpose Driven Life by Rick Warren. It’s one of those things that some people consider mere coincidence while others like me consider it a sign or communication from God. The prayer is about giving up our own plans and purposes to do God’s will. How is that for timeliness?

If you’re interested in The Purpose Driven Life, please join me for the 40 days of lent as we go through each of the 4o short chapters one day at a time. Get ready by buying your own book or making sure your local library has a copy for you.

For more information about this book, check my other post.

Leave a Reply

 
