Infinity Goods blog

A blog for God’s People

WFMW & Thursday 13: Our Purpose Driven Lives

Posted by infinitygoods on January 29, 2008

wfmwbluebanner.jpgthursdaybannerbook.png

The Lenten season is approaching quickly.  For the past two years while I was working at my church I have used the book “The Purpose Driven Life” by Rick Warren to prepare for Easter by reading his book and reflecting on his 40-day spiritual journey.  I found different insights each year as I have grown and changed.  It worked for me so well that I want to repeat it for a third year, and for 2008 I hope you’ll join me on-line.  I highly recommend this book which according to Publishers Weekly has become “the bestselling nonfiction hardback book in history.”  So come find out why with me and my other readers.  If you don’t already own it, you can check it out from your local library when the time comes, or you can purchase it.

If you’re interested in “The Purpose Driven Life,” please join me for the 40 days of lent as we go through each of the 4o short chapters one day at a time.  I will start the discussion with the introduction on February 6th (Ash Wednesday) and we will continue for the next 40 days during lent, finishing on March 17th (St. Patrick’s Day), just in time for Holy Week and with God’s help we will be prepared for a new purpose driven life during the Easter Season.   (I will continue my other posts as well.)

Here are 13 of many more discussion questions taken from Warren’s book:

  1. What do you feel most people’s lives are driven by?
  2. What has been the driving force in your life?
  3. How is friendship with God similar to any other friendship, and how is it different?
  4. What fears surface when you think of surrendering your complete life to Christ?
  5. What are the barriers that keep us from loving and caring for other believers?
  6. Is there someone you need to restore a relationship with that we could pray with you about?
  7. Where in your spiritual growth are you having to be patient because there seems to be little progress?
  8. How has God used pain and trouble to help you grow?
  9. What do you love to do that you could use to serve others in the family of God?
  10. How does comparing ourselves with others keep us from fully developing our unique shape?
  11. What do you feel might be a part of the Life Message that God has given you to share with the world?
  12. How has reading through this book together refocused or redirected you life purpose?
  13. What have been some of the most helpful insights to you?

For more participants, head over to Shannon’s Rocks In My Dryer, and to Thursday Thirteen.  And if you’ve missed some of my previous posts, just click below.

5 Responses to “WFMW & Thursday 13: Our Purpose Driven Lives”

  1. MrsBranham said

    Thanks for entering my contest and visiting me!

  2. Nicholas said

    Thanks for taking the time and trouble to put together that TT but I can’t see any book like that being of interest to me. I’m sure many others will think differently, though.

  3. This is an interesting TT. I will be thinking about this. Though I am Jewish and can’t ever imagine surrendering anything to a rabbi, even one as great as Jesus. I wish you and your family a peaceful and thoughtful lent.

  4. infinitygoods said

    Thank you for your comment, Journeywoman. If while you are thinking about it you decide you want to join us in the discussion, you will be welcome. You will bring a great perspective and bring knowledge of the Talmud (the first 5 books of the Old Testament). While we as Christians speak of Jesus, you being Jewish can think of G-d. I believe most if not all of the book will be applicable to you if you apply it to G-d. In a way, it is what Christians do when we think of Jesus since he is the son of G-d and as part of the trinity, he is therefore G-d. Although Jesus is referred to as rabbi and teacher in the bible, He is much more than that to a Christian. We would not think of surrendering anything to a pastor or priest or even a prophet either. I think it is important for all Judeo-Christians to remember that our faith is based on Judeism and that Jesus and his apostles were Jews. I hope you’ll decide to join the discussion.

  5. infinitygoods said

    Nicholas, that’s OK if this book is not your cup of tea. I’m glad you’re a regular visitor here anyway.

Leave a Reply

 
