Infinity Goods blog

A blog for God’s People

13 Inexpensive Ways To Show Your Love

Posted by infinitygoods on February 5, 2008

wfmwbluebanner.jpgthursdaybannerpariscafe.png

Let romance work for you on Valentine’s Day and year-round. It’s not always the expensive gifts that will show you care. Quite often, it’s the little ways. What’s a big diamond if you don’t even pay attention to each other? Here are 13 tested and approved ways to show your loved ones you truly care about them. They will work for you too.

  1. Write a love letter (see this wonderful sample at Pensieve — it got him the girl and 20+ years later, it’s still her favorite valentine of all time);
  2. Write a poem;
  3. Take your loved one to a picnic on the beach, park or some pleasant, but secluded spot;
  4. Rent romantic movies, make a fire in the fireplace, dim the lights, make or buy a tiny cake for two or dip some strawberries in chocolate, serve some sparkling apple cider in crystal flutes; (Here’s a lovely Valentine dessert recipe!)
  5. Read or recite poetry while you massage your loved one’s feet. Shelley and Tennyson are very romantic! Get a tiny book edition to make it easy to hold in one hand.
  6. Make a special dinner for two. Think small portions and ingredients you don’t use everyday. Don’t go out to a crowded, noisy, expensive restaurant. Where’s the romance in that?
  7. Tuck a heart-shaped cookie and an “I love you” in your loved one’s lunch bag;
  8. Also for the lunch bag or briefcase or even the front seat of the car, place a few Hugs and Kisses chocolates in a decorative cellophane bag or other pretty container with a promise for more at home. More chocolates for a child or more … for a spouse — that’s up to you;
  9. Do a chore your loved one would normally have to do (Do it well!! Don’t make your loved one have to redo it or clean up your mess. The thought only counts so far in this case.);
  10. Remember the phrase “As you wish” from “The Princess Bride”? It meant “I love you.” Use it or come up with your own phrase and see how quickly your bride or prince charming figures out what you truly mean.
  11. Pick out a novel with a romantic love story or subplot and read it to your loved one or to each other before bedtime;
  12. Give a vase or box full of 365 heart-shaped slips of paper. On each heart write a reason why you are in love, a compliment, an “I love you,” a promise for a kiss, etc. and fold in half. Each day, for an entire year, your loved one gets to open a heart. You can make it as platonic or as explicit as your relationship allows.
  13. Make the decision to make your loved one happy year-round. Base all your actions on whether it would make your loved one happy. It will do wonders for your relationship and soon, without even realizing it, your loved one will reciprocate. 🙂

What are some of your ideas for showing your love on Valentine’s Day?
For more tips, visit Rocks In My Dryer and for more lists of lucky thirteens, visit Thursday Thirteen.

If you’ve missed any of my other household tips, just click below.

19 Responses to “13 Inexpensive Ways To Show Your Love”

  1. 4urpets said

    Awwwww. How romantic. Now if only I had a Valentine for my very own.

  2. Robin said

    You may not have a lot of comments (yet) on this post, but I noticed several hits to my page from here. How much do I love that Tad’s little loveBOOK would be shared with others?

    I didn’t post it, but a few years ago, I made one for him, too. I think I probably enjoyed making it more than he enjoyed receiving it, but, gosh, they’re cheap, fun ways to express “love”.

    Thanks for the link here :).

  3. infinitygoods said

    Thank you for commenting 4urpets and Robin!

    I was very glad to link to you Robin, you had a great post there. So folks, be sure to check out Tad’s multi-page love letter/book.

    Don’t forget to let me know what you think on these ideas and give all of us some of your own.

  4. My Valentine is taking me (and the kids) on a road trip for Valentine’s day. Happy TT.

  5. melanie said

    What a great list! I will be doing something very special for my sweet..these are great idea’s!

  6. Great ideas!

  7. Excellent advice. There’s a couple I think I’ll do shortly. Very well done. Have a great TT. 🙂

  8. Natalie said

    Great ideas!

  9. infinitygoods said

    Oh, a road trip sounds like a lot of fun, Pussreboots. I love road trips, even the short day trips. That’s a great valentine too, even with the kids.

  10. Candy said

    Awww… such romantic ideas. Do you have any for long-distance relationships? :o)

  11. infinitygoods said

    Candy, I think 1, 2, and 12 would work great for long-distance relationships. And you could definitely call each other. Anyone have other ideas or experience with something that worked well?

  12. Robin said

    Great ideas. I think I’ll tuck a note into my husband’s backpack (he packs his own lunch and then bike-commutes to work – can’t really leave a surprise note on the saddle of a bicycle LOL).

  13. laane said

    Wow!
    That’s a great post!

    Feel welcome to visit my blog

    Ask Laane

    Have a great week!!!

  14. tasha said

    Excellent tips!! I like the box o’notes idea….I may do that providing I have the time….any simple “romantic” idea for htose of us with a ouseful of kids, ha!! (Sometimes a noisy restaurant is calmer than the choas of little ones — at least I don’t have to “tend” to the noise, ha!) Happy TT!

  15. infinitygoods said

    Tasha, I only have one child, not six, but we celebrate Valentine’s day with our son too. For example the heart shaped cookies and the hugs and kisses actually went in our son’s lunch boxes, but it can be adapted to a spouse. One year my husband surprised me with a picnic on the beach. It was very romantic to us, but to our son it was just a great day at the beach. The special dinner for two is now a special dinner for three and we celebrate the love for our family. The romantic video can be G-rated like Beauty and the Tramp or The Little Mermaid, or you can watch the video after the kids have gone to bed.

  16. Great ideas that you have listed there.

  17. […] are some more tips for inexpensive ways to show your love from Infinity […]

  18. Tink said

    Great tips! I think I’m going to use some of those!
    Thanks for visiting my Dalai Lama TT; sorry I’m this late in returning the favour!

  19. infinitygoods said

    Thanks, Tink. Those were great quotes from the Dalai Lama. I liked your Thurs. 13. Have no worries, you’re never too late. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
