Infinity Goods blog

A blog for God’s People

Drawing Closer To God: Chapt. 12 Purpose Driven Life

Posted by infinitygoods on February 19, 2008

Those of you who don’t have WordPress must be wondering where the daily Purpose Driven Life posts have gone. WordPress has been down. We have all been unable to post or approve comments, etc., while readers have still been able to read our blogs. My clock and auto-posts have also acted up in the last couple of days. WordPress has uncharacteristically given us no reason for this down time so I cannot tell you what happened or if the clock problem is related.I will pick up where we left off. Today we will discuss Chapter 12. I think it is best to only post one chapter rather than two so that noone falls behind because of this incident and so that we follow Rick Warren’s recommended schedule of only 1 chapter per day. He strongly advises NOT to do more than that. It does not pose a problem since I have been posting on Sundays too, so we will still finish before Easter.

Cool Green Tree by idg on Flickr Public Files

Previous chapters can be found on the Purpose Driven Life page.

My determined purpose is that I may know Him — that I may progressively become more deeply and intimately acquainted with Him, perceiving and recognizing and understanding the wonders of His person more strongly and more clearly.” Philippians 3:10

This chapter reminded me very much of my own dad. It is one more example for me that our relationship first with our parents and later with our children teaches us how to have a relationship with God.

Throughout my childhood and even into my adulthood my dad would say to tell him everything. Whatever it was, whether positive or negative, my dad was the person to tell. If I had a problem at school, if I had a problem with my mom, if I had a problem with my allowance, if I had a fear or a concern, whatever it was I should report it to him. If I was proud of an accomplishment, if I was looking forward to a special event, if I was happy, I should tell him. Does that sound like the first step Warren brings up in this chapter? Does it sound like I had to be honest with my dad and tell him the truth in everything, just like Warren tells us we should do with God? We must tell our Father everything. Tell God the good and tell him the bad. Have entire conversations with Him just as you would if you were telling your dad or your confidant. Let God be your confidant.

When you tell a confident everything, it’s because you have confidence in them. You have faith or trust in them. Have faith and trust in God. Warren tells us that if we have faith or trust in God and we love Him, we will obey Him. And if we trust God, we will also trust his values. When we have a good friend we value their opinion right? If Martha tells us that something is good, we trust her and believe that it is good. If we trust God then we value his opinion and values too. It’s all related and intertwined. Warren tells us that God can be our friend too and that we should want his friendship above anything. Do you?

How would you describe your relationship with God? Are you on friendly terms? Do you talk to Him regularly? Do you listen to Him and do what he believes to be good? What do you do to get closer to God? What ideas and thoughts has this chapter sparked in you?

Chapt. 13

Leave a Reply

 
