Infinity Goods blog

A blog for God’s People

Participate In Church And You’ll Feel Like You Belong: Purpose Driven Life Chapt. 17

Posted by infinitygoods on February 25, 2008

Telegraph Tower by pbo31 on Flickr public files

 “If you know people who have wandered off from God’s truth, don’t write them off.  Go after them.  Get them back.”  James 5:19

When we not only attend church, but also participate in it, we usually get far more in return than what we give.  I, for one, have been happiest at churches where I have actively participated by joining the various activities and by volunteering my time and talent.  When I worked for my church I also gave far more of myself than I would have for an ordinary job, because it just wasn’t a job, it was a ministry.  Although I gave more, I also gained more.  I gained spiritually.  I gained a sense of belonging.  I gained experience.  I contributed and created.

Most people just come to church for the Sunday service.  Many even grumble about it.  One hour or even less per week for God and their fellow Christians is still too much for them.  In comparison, we had some members who came to our church 7 days a week.  The ones who gave the most complained the least and were the happiest.  If we don’t have any responsibilities, if we don’t contribute, we don’t feel like we belong, we don’t feel like we matter.

What about you?  Are you one of the grumblers or do you give of yourself to your church for God?  Do you show your love for God or are you inadvertently showing that you’d rather be somewhere else?  Are you committed to your church and God’s family?

One Response to “Participate In Church And You’ll Feel Like You Belong: Purpose Driven Life Chapt. 17”

  1. I think this is so true and I know I could do better.

Leave a Reply

 
