Infinity Goods blog

A blog for God’s People

WFMW: Reuse Plastic Grocery Bags in the Car

Posted by infinitygoods on September 25, 2007

I always have on hand some plastic grocery bags in my car. Over the years I have reused them in all sorts of ways.

Garbage gets tossed quickly and easily instead of being scattered throughout the car. When baby gets car sick, the soiled outfit goes in a plastic bag or two and the smell is contained too. No need for a Diaper Genie in the car, just use a couple plastic grocery bags until you get to the nearest garbage can.

When there’s an impromptu trip to the beach, wet bathing suits or seashells, rocks and other treasures go right in too. Car trouble or something dirty to touch, a bag becomes a plastic mitten. If a child walks into mud, the shoes and socks can go in the bag, too.

Toys, especially balls which can get very dirty, can easily be carried by the child to the park from the parking lot. The dirty balls or sandy toys won’t soil a good canvas tote bag or basket. They can be used as a temporary tossable liner as well.

I’m always finding a new use for them and it’s good for our environment to reuse. It actually saves money, energy and time to reuse before recycling.

For this tip and more, see Rocks in my Dryer.

3 Responses to “WFMW: Reuse Plastic Grocery Bags in the Car”

  1. xboxwife said

    Great tips! They also take up so little space!

    Thanks for sharing!

    Mrs. Brownstone @ XBOX Wife
    http://xboxwife.blogspot.com/

  2. Amy said

    I love plastic grocery bags, too. I use them for everything. I’ve bought reusable grocery bags before, but when my supply of plastic ones is gone, what do I do? How do I pick up the dog doo, or get rid of the poopy diapers, or collect the car trash, or sort our recycling, or the 10 squajillion other things we do with them?

  3. Linda said

    I love to stuff the bags in an empty tissue box. This keeps them from taking over my car.

Leave a comment