Infinity Goods blog

A blog for God’s People

Archive for November 1st, 2007

I Descended Into the Depths of Insanity

Posted by infinitygoods on November 1, 2007

nano_participant_icon_large1.gifnablo07120x240lgcat.jpg

UPDATE: I WON BOTH NANOWRIMO AND NABLOPOMO!!


I descended into the depths of insanity. I actually signed up for BOTH NaNoWriMo and NaBloPoMo!

That means I have to write the rough draft of a 50,000 word novel in 30 days and at the same time I have to write a blog post for every single one of these 30 days during November.

I don’t have the chance of going to a luxurious writer’s retreat where I can be waited on hand and foot while I focus on writing all day. No, that would just be much too easy and enjoyable. You see I much prefer the torture of writing 1,800-2,000+ words a day while cooking, cleaning, chauffeuring, teaching, and all the other pleasures that come with the job description of a mother, wife, homemaker.

What, me sleep? I’m a mother. I have been trained from pregnancy to thrive on insomnia and the Chinese torture of being woken each time I attempt to close my eyes.

If I were sane, I would have rolled on the floor laughing when I read about NaNoWriMo and NaBloPoMo. Instead I was intrigued at the novel idea. (Yes, pun intended. My self-editor has purposely been turned off through Dec. 1.)

So if you’re interested in finding out how a journalist turned 24/7 mom will fare for the next 30 days, I invite you to subscribe to my RSS feed, favorite me, bookmark me or whatever is your preferred mode of quick blogosphere transportation.

Until tomorrow, as they say in Monte Carlo, “Faites vos jeux, mesdames et messieurs. Faites vos jeux. … Rien ne vas plus!”

Pardon my French: “Place your bets, ladies and gentlemen. Place your bets.”

===============================================================

  • Don’t know what NaBloPoMo and NaNoWriMo are? Read all about it here and here.

Posted in America, blog, blogging, Blogroll, book, books, culture, Infinity Goods, infinitygoods.com, Internet, life, NaBloPoMo, NaNoWriMo, National Blog Post Month, National Novel Writing Month, News, novel, novel in 30 days, U.S., Uncategorized, USA, Website, writing | Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments »