Infinity Goods blog

A blog for God’s People

16 Tips to Increase a Blog or Website’s Traffic

Posted by infinitygoods on October 9, 2007

Here’s a recap of all the answers to last week’s WFMW question: How do you increase traffic to your blog or website?

Thank you for all your great comments!!

And please be sure to read my WFMW post for today titled: Toys Stored in Zipper Bags and Plastic Drawer Towers

  • Be a good blog reader;
  • Comment on other people’s blogs;
  • Write meaningful comments; not fluff;
  • Join in on a conversation;
  • Comment often;
  • Invite people back;
  • Write interesting, amusing, thought provoking posts;
  • Ask questions/opinions in your posts.
  • Participate in a carnival or other writing event.
  • Host a carnival;
  • Comment consistantly;
  • Great writing is a must to get return traffic;
  • Write often;
  • Have a unique voice;
  • Think about what you like in the blogs you visit regularly;
  • Be conscious about what works on your own blog to keep people coming back.

See these and other great tips on Rocks in My Dryer.

10 Responses to “16 Tips to Increase a Blog or Website’s Traffic”

  1. Kacie said

    And, participate in blog carnivals 🙂

  2. Great tips! I took an unannounced break for 4 days last week and my traffic definitely suffered! In the mommyblogger niche, it’s all about relationships with other bloggers–if you’re not actively commenting and posting, you fall off the map!

  3. scott47 said

    This is great information!!! I have been trying to get some extra visitors on my blog as well. I offer free information on products, people just need to read my site, theres no need to pay!! haha. thank you for the tips, I will be sure to use them. If you like you can check out my blog, just suggest a product online that you want me to review and I will for free. thanks again
    http://scott47.wordpress.com/

  4. melanie said

    Not sure what a blog carnival is, but interested to find out! Great resource here and oh so true!

  5. phyllis said

    that’s a great list…thanks for visiting me today too. i always try to follow back my comments which seems to help too…

  6. infinitygoods said

    Thank you all for your comments, additional tips, and for visiting me. I hope you’ll come back often.

    Scott — I’m glad this was helpful to you and good luck on your new blog.

    Melanie — An example of a blog carnival is this one called Works For Me Wednesday and hosted by Shannon at http://rocksinmydryer.typepad.com/
    I find WFMW to be very interesting, educational, varied and fun. For more information about blog carnivals, check this link at Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blog_carnival

    SAHMmy — That’s an interesting discovery you made. Thanks for letting all of us know.

  7. Lizzie said

    Great ideas.
    I host a carnival on the weekends called Works of God weekend. A great place to share blessings:)

  8. infinitygoods said

    Lizzie, Thank you for letting me and my readers know about Works Of God Weekend.
    Sending prayers and blessings for you and yours. 🙂

  9. Family Resource said

    Very informative advice! I will follow you idea!

  10. jasmine31 said

    I do alot of this already. Thanx for the tips!

Leave a comment