Infinity Goods blog

A blog for God’s People

“Insanity is hereditary. You can catch it from your kids.”

Posted by infinitygoods on February 20, 2008

 thursdaybannerbook.png

Happy Thursday, everyone!  For more participants be sure to visit Thursday Thirteen.Erma Bombeck (1927-1996)

Today would be Erma Bombeck’s birthday.  She was born February 21, 1927 and died April 22, 1996. The newspaper columnist made us laugh at life’s idiosyncrasies for three decades through her syndicated column and her bestselling books like “If Life Is A Bowl Of Cherries, What Am I Doing In The Pits?”

  1. Insanity is hereditary. You can catch it from your kids.
  2. Thanks to my mother, not a single cardboard box has found its way back into society. We receive gifts in boxes from stores that went out of business twenty years ago.
  3. Did you ever notice that the first piece of luggage on the carousel never belongs to anyone?
  4. Getting out of the hospital is a lot like resigning from a book club. You’re not out of it until the computer says you’re out of it.
  5. Housework, if you do it right, will kill you.
  6. When a child is locked in the bathroom with water running and he says he’s doing nothing but the dog is barking, call 911.
  7. If you can’t make it better, you can laugh at it.
  8. It is not until you become a mother that your judgment slowly turns to compassion and understanding.
  9. It takes a lot of courage to show your dreams to someone else.
  10. On vacations: We hit the sunny beaches where we occupy ourselves keeping the sun off our skin, the saltwater off our bodies, and the sand out of our belongings.
  11. When I stand before God at the end of my life, I would hope that I would not have a single bit of talent left, and could say, “I used everything you gave me”.
  12. One thing they never tell you about child raising is that for the rest of your life, at the drop of a hat, you are expected to know your child’s name and how old he or she is.
  13. Seize the moment. Think of all those women on the ‘Titanic’ who waved off the dessert cart.

9 Responses to ““Insanity is hereditary. You can catch it from your kids.””

  1. Nicholas said

    I remember her! I saw her on a few talk shows from time to time and I used to own that book you mention.

  2. 4urpets said

    Irma Bombeck is my very very favorite. I love her. I thought I was the only one in the world that recycled boxes in #2. I also take back the gift bags for re-use. It’s not uncommon for my family to see the same gift bag five or six times. 🙂

  3. Malcolm said

    This was a very good tribute to the late Erma Bombeck. I remember her from watching “Good Morning America” with my mother when I was a kid. My favorite quotes on your list were 1, 2, 9, 11 and 13.

  4. Lori said

    I used to own the book too. This was a great list. It including quotes that made me laugh and ones that made me think. Awww.

    Very nice.

  5. Lynne said

    I love #3! This is a very funny list!

  6. Natalie said

    enjoyed your list. happy TT!

  7. Gina said

    I LOVED Erma Bombeck. Her wit was amazing. I really miss her–thanks for sharing these wonderful funny, sad and thought-provoking quotes.

  8. Esmeralda said

    #12 is very true. It happened to me today when I took one of my daughter’s to the doctor’s office. I think before I leave the house, I’ll write it on my arm so I’ll be ready.

    I love the list.

  9. Patricia said

    I’ve only learned about who she is after reading a short article on her and her losing battle with cancer a few years back. It seems as if she has lead a pretty full life. So sorry to know that she succumbed.

Leave a comment